University Types in Austraila

Learn about the various types of universities that exist in Australia. Australia is a popular study abroad location for international students, and it is highly regarded by different world university rankings, indicating that it has good teaching and learning approaches, research output, academic standards, and an international viewpoint.

1. Universities in the 1960s and 1970s
State governments created universities in the mainland capitals (sponsored by the Commonwealth Government) to meet the demand for higher education throughout the mid-1960s and 1970s. The member universities’ principal goal was to create a new educational model that was distinct from traditional universities.

The universities formed during that era were:
  • Macquarie University
  • La Trobe University
  • Flinders University
  • Griffith University
  • The University of Newcastle
  • James Cook University
  • Deakin University
  • Murdoch University
  • The University of Wollongong
2. Technology Network of Australia (ATN) The Australian Technology Network (ATN), founded in 1999, is a collaboration of Australia’s five most inventive and ambitious institutions, with an emphasis on developing technology solutions that benefit the economy and society. The ATN was founded in 1975 as the Directors of Central Institutes of Technology (DOCIT), but it was disbanded in 1982 owing to aspirational differences. Its member universities are:
  • Deakin University
  • Curtin University
  • RMIT University
  • University of South Australia
  • The University of Technology Sydney
3. The Eighth Group (Go8) These are Australia’s largest and oldest educational institutions, which have made significant contributions to research and education. The Group of Eight (Go8) is a group of eight major Australian institutions known for providing world-class education and research facilities. It was founded in 1999. Many overseas students select them because of their high rankings, numerous research possibilities, and strong industry contacts. Its member universities are:
  • University of Melbourne
  • Australian National University
  • University of Sydney
  • The University of Queensland
  • Monash University
  • The University of New South Wales Sydney
  • The University of Western Australia
  • The University of Adelaide
4. Universities in the region The Regional Universities Network (RUN), which is headquartered in regional Australia, is made up of seven universities (established in 2011). The organization aspires to contribute significantly to the development of regional economies and communities. Universities guarantee that higher education is accessible to all and that educated professionals are produced to support regional development. Its member universities are:
  • CQ University Australia
  • Charles Sturt University
  • Southern Cross University
  • University of New England
  • Federation University
  • University of Southern Queensland
  • University of the Sunshine Coast (USC)
5. Universities of the next generation To bring students who have completed higher secondary school to the new form of higher education institutions, the Australian government founded colleges of advanced education. The separation between the university and non-university sectors, however, became untenable in 1988, and it was abolished. In addition, in 2002, the network of these colleges formed a lobbying group that lasted only a few years. Its member universities are:
  • Australian Catholic University
  • Bond University
  • Canberra University
  • Edith Cowan University
  • The University of Notre Dame
  • Victoria University
  • Western Sydney University

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Contact Us